PDA

View Full Version : American Thinker: MSNBC Distorts its Own Poll

sailingaway
09-11-2011, 08:15 AM
I know we knew this at the time, but it is nice to see in print....

http://www.americanthinker.com/blog/2011/09/msnbc_distorts_its_own_poll.html

sickmint79
09-11-2011, 08:58 AM
as a programmer i wonder if this was actually just a bug.

Original_Intent
09-11-2011, 09:14 AM

as a programmer, I think the chances are slim that this is due to a bug.

lucky_bg
09-11-2011, 09:21 AM
As a not programmer, I think you don't need to be programmer to make this chart. You need excel, and whenever I made charts in Excel they never looked like that one at MSNBC.

djruden
09-11-2011, 09:39 AM

I've kind of had this line of thinking too. Could be that their current poll software just wasn't made to handle such large voting blocs or rarely has such outstanding winners. It's not always a conspiracy.

InTradePro
09-11-2011, 09:39 AM

Right now it could be a 'feature' but initially the polls showed Dr Paul and Mitt Romney with exactly the same length line even though Dr Paul had many more votes
http://buck000.smugmug.com/Other/Miscellaneous/i-PdbR6tZ/0/O/msnbcpoll.jpg

from http://www.ronpaulforums.com/showthread.php?314249-MSNBC-quot-Buffers-quot-Ron-s-Poll-Results-*CALL-TO-ACTION*.

libertyjam
09-11-2011, 09:45 AM
Right now it could be a 'feature' but initially the polls showed Dr Paul and Mitt Romney with exactly the same length line even though Dr Paul had many more votes
http://buck000.smugmug.com/Other/Miscellaneous/i-PdbR6tZ/0/O/msnbcpoll.jpg

from http://www.ronpaulforums.com/showthread.php?314249-MSNBC-quot-Buffers-quot-Ron-s-Poll-Results-*CALL-TO-ACTION*.

Really that looks like a scaling and saturation of scale issue that got noticed, so I'm thinking not intentional.

Feelgood
09-11-2011, 10:04 AM