PDA

View Full Version : Abolishing FDA/EPA/FAA - how to explain to those who fear deregulation

D.A.S.
09-10-2011, 11:42 AM
Ron Paul has said many times that he would prefer to do away with EPA and FDA, and this question once again came up in the MSNBC debates. I'm a scientist/engineer, and a lot of folks in my circles fully support the EPA and the FDA as necessary agencies to protect us from harmful effects of fraud and corporate greed, although they contend that both agencies aren't most efficient at what they do.

I understand the property rights argument for protecting the environment, but I've been combated with an argument saying that the property rights argument is only helpful to sue someone after the damage has already been done, rather than having regulation in place to prevent the damage in the first place. I must admit, I didn't have a quick comeback to that and wanted to solicit some ideas from folks here.

When it comes to the FDA, the people, who understand that the FDA has stood in the way of innovation and let a lot of bad drugs slip right through its fingers, still credit the FDA for monitoring food safety and certain standards for drinking water, etc. They say, how can a non-government body be set up to take on the crucial function of protecting the uninformed citizens from harm of corporations aiming to take advantage? I must admit, I didn't have a quick comeback to that either.

Please share some ideas for how this part of Ron Paul's platform could be marketed to inquiring people with those kinds of deeper questions, and perhaps if you know of a book I should read (Ron's or otherwise) that explains on how to deal with questions like that, I'd be very grateful to be pointed in that direction!

erowe1
09-10-2011, 11:48 AM