PDA

View Full Version : Ron Paul Needs to Redirect Frivolous ?'s to Important Issues

Article V
08-06-2011, 12:24 AM
When the debate moderators inevitably ask Ron Paul about marijuana or some other non-pressing issue that makes Ron Paul's candidacy seem outside the mainstream, he needs to call them out on the question.

"I'm a medical doctor; I am trained to heal people. I'm never going to advise someone to get hooked on drugs, but I'm also not going to throw them in jail if they do. I'm going to help them because that's what a doctor does, that's what a Christian does, and that's what a good society does.

"Now I wish you'd ask me about more pressing issues, such as health care--since I am a doctor and know a few things about the health care industry, having been a flight surgeon in the Air Force, an OB/GYN in my private practice, and having raised a family of doctors.

"Or perhaps, you could ask me about our current economic crisis, since I'm a published economist and the Head of the Monetary Policy Subcommittee. After all, I have been warning about the dangers of debt and spending for years, which is why they credit me as the Father of the Tea Party.

"But instead of these bigger issues, whenever you get to me, somehow all you want to know about are drugs and prostitutes. Really? Don't we have bigger problems? No credible doctor would focus on a running nose when someone is having a heart attack. And no President should either."

"Let's start listening to the American people and focus on the real problems that ail them right now today. We can't be so concerned about other people's sex lives that we spend our country into perpetual debt and foreclosure. A President needs to keep his eye on the ball. And that's exactly what I will do."

I bet he'd get huge applause and never have to deal with ludicrous questions again.

hillbilly123069
08-06-2011, 12:53 AM