PDA

View Full Version : DOT considering 'black boxes' for cars

jim49er
05-27-2011, 06:32 PM
Some cars already have some of this installed. How can I get rid of it?

pcosmar
05-27-2011, 06:55 PM
Some cars already have some of this installed. How can I get rid of it?

Buy an old car, restore it yourself.

jim49er
05-27-2011, 08:38 PM
I want to move foward not backwards. I'f this stuff is in my car help me . I'M not a mechanic but some here may know how to defeat this.

QueenB4Liberty
05-27-2011, 09:04 PM
I hope mine doesn't have one in it.

acptulsa
05-27-2011, 09:48 PM
I want to move foward not backwards. I'f this stuff is in my car help me . I'M not a mechanic but some here may know how to defeat this.

Having to dismantle your new car to make it stop doing what you don't want it to do is progress? This is moving forward?

If this is forward, what the hell is wrong with backward?

And where this thing is varies widely according to make and model. Yours might not even have it. Yours might have it so built in, if you took out the computer that does the dirty deed the car might not start and run.

You might also consider whether this will void your warranty or not.

Progress. Bah. 1969 was a very good year for American cars.

VBRonPaulFan
05-27-2011, 10:03 PM
from what i've read, some manufacturers (mostly gm) have already been putting these in since the early/mid 90's. it looks like all manufacturers have this to some extent in all of their vehicles now.