PDA

View Full Version : Insurance

nobody's_hero
05-17-2011, 08:37 PM
How do you counter the argument that we need more involvement in healthcare regarding insurance because 'many states mandate automobile drivers to have auto-insurance'?

Is there any validity to the argument?

My premise is that you getting sick doesn't affect anyone else, and therefore, auto-insurance is not an acceptable analogy.

Then again, I have to kick myself, because I don't actually think that mandatory auto-insurance is justifiable. What if I never have a wreck? Later in life, I'll realize that I spent 50 or so years paying into a system that I could never receive benefits from (never had reason collect said benefits, because I was a careful driver). Sounds like a rip-off.

pcosmar
05-17-2011, 09:14 PM
I am opposed to state mandated auto insurance as well.
When I first started driving there was a choice, Either insurance or sign a financial responsibility form.

Insurance companies lobbied for the law, and at the time the promise and selling point was that when insurance was mandatory everyone's cost would come down. Insurance would be cheaper.
I watched this happen in two different States.

Both times Insurance costs doubled immediately after they had everyone by the balls.
And now we have NO Fault in this state. Which means that if I get hit by some idiot, I am shit out of luck because I do not carry Full coverage insurance on a car that is over 20 yrs old. I carry state mandated minimum. PLPD. It still costs me more each year than the car is worth.

I have never wrecked a car. Insurance is a scam.

Health insurance? I'll be fine till I die.

Elwar
05-17-2011, 09:25 PM
New Hampshire stopped mandating car insurance and the car insurance rates in NH are quite low compared to the other states.

Zippyjuan
05-17-2011, 09:33 PM