PDA

View Full Version : Rand Paul: 'Right to health care' is slavery

aGameOfThrones
05-11-2011, 01:53 PM
A hearing of the Senate HELP Subcommittee on Primary Health and Aging looked at emergency room use and took an odd turn Wednesday when Sen. Rand Paul compared the “right to health care” to slavery.

“With regard to the idea whether or not you have a right to health care you have to realize what that implies. I am a physician. You have a right to come to my house and conscript me. It means you believe in slavery. You are going to enslave not only me but the janitor at my hospital, the person who cleans my office, the assistants, the nurses. … You are basically saying you believe in slavery,” said Paul (R-Ky.), who is an ophthalmologist.

"Our founding documents said you have a right to pursue happiness, but there’s no guarantee about physical comfort. When you say you have a ‘right’ to something there is an implication of force. ... I will always treat people who come into the ER because that is what we always have done and because I believe in the Hippocratic Oath.”

http://www.politico.com/news/stories/0511/54769.html

Vessol
05-11-2011, 02:02 PM
Woo! Go Rand!

teacherone
05-11-2011, 02:04 PM
ohh man... the spin that will come out of this...

aGameOfThrones
05-11-2011, 02:06 PM
ohh man... the spin that will come out of this...

Read the few comments.

SWATH
05-11-2011, 02:10 PM
Well if getting free healthcare is a right I need to call the government and get my free guns too. I should also sue them for all the ones I had to pay for.

jct74
05-11-2011, 02:11 PM
Awesome. This should be in Rand Paul forum though.

TheNcredibleEgg
05-11-2011, 02:13 PM
Ok, it's silly to use the word slavery to describe this - and there will be negative backlash.

It's not slavery because he can still choose not to do it. Slavery implies no choice whatsoever - plus no fiscal compensation.

That being said - I'm not defending the govt. Just the poor use of word.

Wesker1982