PDA

View Full Version : Rally in Ames, Iowa Oct 26

risiusj
10-26-2007, 07:12 PM
Success!

At first the national campaign was pessimistic about the rally in Ames. The original plan was to hold the rally in a smaller room that held about 200 people. Then if, IF, that room got filled we would move to a larger room that held 400. This was because a small room filled is better than a large room empty, of course.
That plan changed. It was decided to hold in the bigger room from the start, but with only 300 chairs out. Then if, IF, the seats filled we could get the extra 100 chairs out.
I'm no expert on head counting, but I'd say there was 50-100 people standing in the back.

The crowd was a little restless during the intro speeches by the Iowa Chairman and National Chairman, and I believe this is due to a lot of new faces to the revolution that were there.
Once Ron Paul got out there you could feel a lot more energy. Not quite the energy like the rally in Des Moines a few months ago, but overall quite good.

As of now, there are 70 members of Team Ron Paul, the campus organization. I hope to see that increase dramatically.

Tonight was a small victory. But we need more troops in Iowa. We need to get the word out to as many college students as we can. We are the wild card this election.

If you can help, there is an email campaign that some of us here at the forums have been working on to contact Iowa college students.
PM me if you're interested in helping email and introduce students to the good Dr.

JPFromTally
10-26-2007, 07:25 PM
So are you saying there were around 500 people there?

Psyclone
10-26-2007, 07:37 PM
According the the campaign worker who was supposed to be counting people, the total number who came to the room was 650, and I believe it. People were standing all over the sides of the room and they filled the back as well. We got about twice as many people as was expected. It was really exciting!!!

risiusj
10-26-2007, 07:37 PM