PDA

View Full Version : Win-Win and Help!

Esor
10-23-2007, 09:13 PM
I'm fairly new to active political involvement since I am only 19 years old. I actually first saw Ron Paul on Fox News as I browsed the news stations before bed one night. I've always aligned myself as a Libertarian ever since a representative from the party gave a speech at my school. The next morning I took the time to investigate Ron Paul and was thrilled to hear about his message. He is the first candidate that I can fully support without any subconcious feelings of doubt or distrust.

There has been a lot of talk throughout the media and internet, some of which trickles down through these very forums, that supporting Ron Paul is a waste of time and that he has little to no chance of winning. I was actually speaking to my friend last night when I mentioned that I was going to purchase $60 worth of Ron Paul stickers, shirts and signs. He laughed and responded, "next time just give me $60 dollars if you are going to waste it." This brings me to my next talking point.

I cannot see Ron Pauls campaign as a failure in any sense of the word. Sure, he might not win the presidential nominee or get reelected to Congress, but it is still a victory. This grassroots movement has educated thousands upon thousands of people to the forgotten message of "freedom" and "liberty." How can this possibly be a defeat? I am sure most, if not all, of the members on this website can stand-up and say that even if Ron Paul gets smashed in the primaries, they will still support his ideals and message throughout their lifetimes. Therefor, it is a win-win situation for every supporter of freedom and liberty.