PDA

View Full Version : Police Force/Brutality/Violence and Military Vets, correlation?

Lord Xar
01-21-2011, 07:09 PM
Has anyone known of any correlation between use of force by the police and whether or not they are military vets?

Just so I am clear, do police officers who are military vets have more of a predisposition to using force/brutality when in uniform?

Promontorium
01-21-2011, 08:08 PM
I'm a veteran, and I've done military law enforcement. I find the current corrupt police culture deplorable. But I'm just an individual, and you're looking for a good stereotype to cling to.

I wouldn't be surprised if corrupt people are attracted to the police more now, but veterans have always found it easy to become police, for many reasons (training, discipline, etc.).

This idea also assumes the police are generally good, and are only now being soured by a Post Traumatic Stressed out minority of vets. I wouldn't let off the system so easily. I think it is the top-down causing this, a desire by those on top to control the people through fear and intimidation. If it were primarily vets, you'd see the people on top denouncing, rather than encouraging these situations.

oyarde
01-21-2011, 08:10 PM
Has anyone known of any correlation between use of force by the police and whether or not they are military vets?

Just so I am clear, do police officers who are military vets have more of a predisposition to using force/brutality when in uniform?

I have never seen numbers . I doubt it though .The average Marine or soldier who would have actual combat experience are likely not to make up a large percentage of law enforcement . From my own personal experiences I will suggest that these combat vets , overall , would be more compassionate to general public , have better threat instincts and be less arrogant and anal than the avg law enforcement .

AFPVet
01-21-2011, 08:19 PM