PDA

View Full Version : Jon Stewart promoting the FDA

bill1971
12-03-2010, 09:55 PM
I was watching Jon Stewart last night and was surprised how much he was supporting the FDA and mocking anybody who is against it. The sad thing is, if you only watched him he made it seem like his view was the only logical one and to be against it is absurd. To be honest the FDA at first seemed like a great idea to me until I read a bit deeper into it and what it entails.

Anyhow, first post here. It's refreshing to find a forum where people are against govt intervention from everything to taxes to marriage.

Austrian Econ Disciple
12-03-2010, 09:58 PM
Yeah...the FDA that kills millions of people. Such a great institution.

haaaylee
12-03-2010, 10:15 PM
Was this on his show? I didn't see it, but he is satire and there is a real possibility he was mocking support of the FDA.

Kotin
12-03-2010, 10:17 PM
Welcome to The Forums!!

:D

Eryxis
12-03-2010, 10:20 PM
I'm a pharmacist, and I see every day how much of a joke the FDA is, but I think most people on RPF know this.

ClayTrainor
12-03-2010, 10:29 PM
The FDA does a great job of making people think dangerous substances are safe for mass consumption, denying terminal patients from using experimental medication, slowing down medical research and driving up health care costs.

YouTube - How to Reduce Healthcare Costs by 80% Overnight (Without Spending $2 Trillion) (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4XcOMJoEJVQ)

bill1971
12-03-2010, 10:50 PM
He was not mocking support of the FDA. He is generally for big government.

BenIsForRon
12-03-2010, 11:21 PM
Yeah, I love Jon Stewart, but he was completely wrong here.