PDA

View Full Version : Discussions of Christianity on RonPaulForums

tfelice
10-20-2007, 07:50 AM
Before I start here, let me qualify myself. I am 40 years old. I have been a follower of Dr. Paul for at least a dozen years. I am a lifelong Republican, an Evangelical Protestant, and I am an associate pastor of a new church plant in Central PA.

I have become concerned with the discussions on this site regarding Christian voters and the “Religious Right”. Some of you who are not Christian have a tendency to mock Christian beliefs and practices and/or lump all Christians into some single-minded group. The tone of these comments at many times is rude and not helpful for the growth of the Ron Paul voting base - at times comments that have been made are downright offensive. It is to the point, where I would not want to recommend to a new Ron Paul supporter to come to this site for fear someone here might offend their beliefs.

Survey data varies of course, but the general consensus is that 75% of Americans define themselves as Christians; 20% of Americans define themselves as Evangelicals; and 70% of Evangelicals vote Republican. Thus, a sizeable percentage of the people we need to support Dr. Paul define themselves as Christians.

Finally, I will remind you all that Dr. Paul is an Evangelical Christian. So when you mock the beliefs of Christians as a group, you are mocking our candidate of choice as well.

Please let us keep the tone in here civil so that we do not do anything to offend potential supporters or give our detractors another reason to paint us in a bad light.

freelance
10-20-2007, 07:52 AM
Please let us keep the tone in here civil so that we do not do anything to offend potential supporters or give our detractors another reason to paint us in a bad light.

Amen!

DrNoZone
10-20-2007, 07:55 AM
Welcome, welcome.