PDA

View Full Version : What do you look for when evaluating stocks?

Free Moral Agent
11-05-2010, 07:54 PM
I'm just getting into PM mining stocks and ETFs and would like to know which metrics are most important when evaluating stocks?

oyarde
11-05-2010, 08:44 PM
Company history , stabilization , product in demand in future . Yearly sales , caash on hand .Yearly dividend devided by purchase price of stock. If it costs 125 per share , I want more than 19 per year dividend .

Inflation
11-06-2010, 03:58 PM
Look at how many share are outstanding. <100 million is best. 100-200 is OK. 200+ is getting too diluted.

Look at where the assets are. I don't trust anything outside of NATO & NAFTA, and limit South American firms to 25% of my portfolio.

Look for low debt and cash on hand (unless you want to bottom feed on the dogs).

Here's good place to start learning about evaluation and comparison:

http://www.kitco.com/ind/matlack/nov022010_juniors.html

http://www.kitco.com/ind/matlack/nov022010.html

Free Moral Agent
11-07-2010, 11:58 AM
Its a bit overwhelming to read into all the metrics that accompany a stock. Thanks for the tips.

cubical
11-07-2010, 12:33 PM
Look at how many share are outstanding. <100 million is best. 100-200 is OK. 200+ is getting too diluted.

Look at where the assets are. I don't trust anything outside of NATO & NAFTA, and limit South American firms to 25% of my portfolio.

Look for low debt and cash on hand (unless you want to bottom feed on the dogs).

Here's good place to start learning about evaluation and comparison:

http://www.kitco.com/ind/matlack/nov022010_juniors.html

http://www.kitco.com/ind/matlack/nov022010.html

float shouldn't have much impact on a company. If a 1 billion dollar company has 1 billion shares valued at $1, its no different than if they had 100 million shares valued at $10. If they keep doing offerings which consistently grows the shares outstanding, then thats a problem, but this is usually not the case.

cubical