PDA

View Full Version : It's a pain in the arse finding a teaching gig

heavenlyboy34
08-26-2010, 11:17 PM
So, I've been looking for a studio to teach guitar/bass in (I don't have enough space of my own for students+myself), and the search is going nowhere. The only place I found that's even close to quality requires a teaching degree. I have no formal degree, but I have a lot of experience (both in theory and practice). How do I find a place to teach at?

low preference guy
08-26-2010, 11:20 PM
heavenlyboy, what do you think of ear training programs or books?

heavenlyboy34
08-26-2010, 11:31 PM

Some are better than others. It's best if you can find a partner to help with that kind of thing. It helps to get a score and follow along while listening to the recording. The best training, in my experience, is a combination of learning a lot of standard repertoire and playing with an ensemble (transcribing tunes from the radio helps too). The important thing, IMHO, is not to stress the ear, but to let it "open" naturally with experience.

P.S. learning serialist music is very good if you're into jazz, avant garde, contemporary, etc.

CCTelander
08-26-2010, 11:51 PM
So, I've been looking for a studio to teach guitar/bass in (I don't have enough space of my own for students+myself), and the search is going nowhere. The only place I found that's even close to quality requires a teaching degree. I have no formal degree, but I have a lot of experience (both in theory and practice). How do I find a place to teach at?

Have you tried local music stores and/or guitar shops? I've had luck with them in the past, when I did the whole giving lessons thing.

Matt Collins
08-26-2010, 11:51 PM
You don't need a studio. Just look on Craig's List and post there too. And/or rent your own studio space. Get to know the local music scene and music store owners.

angelatc
08-27-2010, 01:11 AM

Do you need a dedicated music space? If not, offer lessons in their home.

Bman
08-27-2010, 01:28 AM