PDA

View Full Version : Pharmacist Publication on Pot

Eryxis
08-06-2010, 12:08 PM
http://www.pharmacytimes.com/issue/pharmacy/2010/July2010/DrugDiversionandAbuse-0710

I'm a pharmacist and we get this magazine for free. I saw the cover with some info about medical marijuana, I read the article and have sent the editors an email already asking for the opportunity to write an article in response to this. I've spotted a million different things wrong, but want to see how much you all can rip it to shreds.

dannno
08-06-2010, 12:40 PM
I have seen estimates that only about 7% of the businesses are legitimate medical marijuana entrepreneurs.

Wrong. I've NEVER been to a dispensary that did not require precisely what is required by STATE law. Ever. Just because cities may be making up their own laws doesn't mean anything in regards to the state law.

He told me that the incidences of impaired drivers high only on tetrahydrocannabinol (the main psychoactive substance in marijuana), with no alcohol, had risen over 1000% since the law had passed.

...maybe because they are now actively LOOKING for it?? Where are the statistics that accidents have increased? How are they testing for it? The substance stays in your system for a month!!

Plenty of government funded studies have shown that driving while moderately stoned produces safer drivers:

http://www.cannabisculture.com/articles/1775.html

a smoke that has been determined to be even more harmful than that of standard cigarettes.

Wrong AGAIN. Most people who use medical grade cannabis smoke VERY little actual plant substance compared to cigarette smokers. There is also NO correlation between long-term heavy use of cannabis and lung, neck, mouth or throat cancer.

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&cd=1&ved=0CBYQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.webmd.com%2Flung-cancer%2Fnews%2F20060523%2Fpot-smoking-not-linked-to-lung-cancer&ei=xFVcTL_zHYPGsAO8-tAF&usg=AFQjCNGrpJRItZueNVW7oX_-db5NEkJOkA