PDA

View Full Version : Why cant they use a blast to slow or stop leak?

puppetmaster
05-20-2010, 08:29 AM
Can't they just use a small to medium detonation to collapse the pipeline and seal the leak in the gulf?

Seems really weird that this is taken so long....I guess call me a conspiracy theorist.

ItsTime
05-20-2010, 08:32 AM
My guess it would be like blowing up a straw, causing more leaks.

specsaregood
05-20-2010, 08:33 AM
I believe the Russians suggested we use a small nuke and its been bandied around the interwebs.

Some argue that it could cause a much bigger hole, and then you'd end up with a much bigger, faster flowing problem.

puppetmaster
05-20-2010, 08:38 AM
just seems to me at a mile down the pressure is quite strong and the sediment would fill in quicky...but I am no rocket scientist

virgil47
05-20-2010, 09:43 AM
Can't they just use a small to medium detonation to collapse the pipeline and seal the leak in the gulf?

Seems really weird that this is taken so long....I guess call me a conspiracy theorist.

They would lose the well and would not be allowed to redrill. If they cap it they can come back at a later time to get the oil.

idirtify
05-20-2010, 09:44 AM
just seems to me at a mile down the pressure is quite strong and the sediment would fill in quicky...but I am no rocket scientist

Something is “fishy” with the oil leak. Far from “rocket science”, it’s only plumbing science. I mean how hard is it to attach a big pipe to a big pipe? Yeah, it’s a mile underwater, but didn’t they successfully complete far bigger and more complicated projects down there when they constructed the rig? But hey…I’m no expert. And I don’t want to start another conspiracy theory. But what better place for self-sabotage than a mile underwater where no one can go or see or investigate?

Zippyjuan
05-20-2010, 11:02 AM