PDA

View Full Version : Help Me Defend The Constitution!

Thursday
05-02-2010, 02:26 AM
Hello all,

I've made up my mind....

I want to become a scholar of the U.S. Constitution. I want to be as well read, armed, and able to defend the Constitution like Andrew Napolitano.

I know you can be a scholar without years of schooling, as I'm sure some of you are through your own diligent studies. However credentials, CV, and a career do a lot of talking in todays world, and I think I would enjoy it because I'm passionate about it.

Any Lawyers, or Judges here?

What's my course of action? What schools do you recommend? What specific courses apply to the Constitution? What am I looking at time wise?

Thanks,

Matt

low preference guy
05-02-2010, 02:39 AM
i hope the RPF community responds but i also suggest to write the judge an e-mail with about this same OP.

BuddyRey
05-02-2010, 04:03 AM
I'm not a lawyer, but my advice would be for you to seek an apprenticeship/internship over at the Institute for Justice, a libertarian law-firm that frequently defends people against Eminent Domain and licensing laws, among other things. They'd probably help put you through school if you agreed to work with them for a few years once you graduated!

http://www.ij.org/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=570&Itemid=197

GunnyFreedom
05-02-2010, 04:29 AM
Well, first and foremost, read it. Several times. Set up a schedule where you read it through once per day for a month. You have probably already read it if you are now so compelled, and as you have seen it is not actually difficult to understand. You don't have to actually memorize it word-for-word (that would be a bit difficult) but just knowing it in generalities from memory will make you better than 99.5% of the US Congress and the US Senate....