PDA

View Full Version : Need help putting an advertisement in the UCLA Daily Bruin!

madcat033
10-09-2007, 02:25 PM
I am a UCLA student and our classes just started last week. Anyways, to get things off to a good start, I had an idea to coordinate a chalking and a newspaper ad. I am going to sidewalk chalk the campus, and then have an advertisement run in the Daily Bruin a few days later. I remember someone mentioning on the forums that you need to present people with a message across several days and in different formats for it to really stick with them... so I figured this would be a REALLY effective way to get the message out to the 40,000 plus students and staff. I am also going to write an editorial for the paper as well.

So, I pitched this idea to the local meetup, and it turns out that one of the guys works for the Daily Bruin and is friends with the head of advertising. He was able to get me a discounted price on a full page color advertisement. It will cost $1200 for a full page black and white advertisement, and an extra $350 for color.

So, I have two questions. Can anyone help me raise money to get this ad in the paper? I would do it if I could, but I don't get any financial assistance from my parents or the government so I have a ton of student loans...

And also, what kind of ad should I put in the paper? I was thinking maybe the one that was used in Iowa for the straw poll, but I was also thinking that it might be more effective to have an advertisement that really focuses on issues that college students care about. You know, no war, no PATRIOT act, social security, whatever.

Any thoughts?

Lord Xar
10-09-2007, 02:30 PM
I contacted them a month ago. I think we could get more bank for the buck with full color 2-sided inserts...

Can you find out pricing for that?

I would be willing to help with this. I went to UCLA and I believe that an inset will go farther than a halfpage ad. ihmo.

Let me know. Contact me PM if you really want to do this.