PDA

View Full Version : Impact of Ron Paul

RedRider
10-08-2007, 11:16 AM
I just wanted to get this out in the open, for all those that are afraid we might lose in the upcoming primary election.

Ron Paul has quite simply changed my life. This isn't a fad, or a passing item of interest to me. Watching him during the debate where he went back and forth with Huckabee was simply awesome. Prior to that debate I was a Fred Thomson supporter, but here was a man that wasn't afraid to challenge (REALLY challenge) the whole system. What did that do for me? It caused me to question a lot of what I had previously thought was just 'the way things are.' Suddenly I was googling all the issues Ron Paul was talking about, and I started learning. And then I saw Money as Debt. Wow, that blew my mind. I looked elsewhere, trying to confirm what I had saw in that animated feature and lo and behold, I discovered that fractional reserve banking REALLY DOES EXIST.

I thought I was a reasonably educated man. I hold a bachelor degree in Meteorology. Never had I heard about fractional reserve banking. I had no idea how money was created, and I never considered how money has value. Just seeing Ron Paul in that one debate caused me to discover all of this on my own.

I never thought to question the Iraq war. As an active duty military member I had always blindly swallowed the koolaid about how we're doing the right thing in Iraq. Oh, there were the occasional doubts (hard not to have them when you're over there), and shrugging them off was becoming more and more difficult. Seeing Ron Paul in a debate was enough to give me enough courage to question myself and my government.