PDA

View Full Version : Top 12 GOP candidates that might challenge Obama

Elwar
01-26-2010, 12:15 PM
http://abcnews.go.com/Politics/2012/2012-election-twelve-gop-candidates-challenge-obama/story?id=9638302&page=1

Mitt Romney
Sarah Palin
Tim Pawlenty
John Thune
Haley Barbour
Mike Pence
Newt Gingrich
Mike Huckabee
Ron Paul
Gary Johnson
Rick Santorum
George Pataki

Ron Paul:

Pro:: The representative from Texas is weighing another run for president if the country's economy does not improve before the start of the nominating process. Paul, an OB/GYN doctor by trade, has delivered more than 4,000 babies. He surprised political observers in 2008 by outraising several of his better-known GOP rivals. Paul's legion of devoted followers were drawn to his record of backing low taxes, free markets, sound money and a noninterventionist foreign policy.
Con: If Paul runs for president again in 2012, he will be forced to compete with former New Mexico Gov. Gary Johnson for the support of Libertarian-leaning Republicans. Paul would also be the oldest candidate in the field: He will be 77 by the next presidential election.

Gary Johnson:

Pro: The former New Mexico governor is positioned to build on what Rep. Ron Paul tapped into in 2008. Johnson believes in less spending, lower taxes, and a noninterventionist foreign policy. As governor, he vetoed 750 bills, a total that at the time was more than that of the other 49 governors in the U.S. combined. An early opponent of the Iraq War, Johnson has been vocal about his opposition to President Obama's surge of troops in Afghanistan, saying it will cost more American lives and not solve the terrorist threat.
Con: Johnson's outspoken support for legalizing marijuana may help him raise money among advocates of that position but it could also limit his support among Republicans who might otherwise be drawn to other parts of his small-government agenda. Johnson may also be hampered in the GOP primaries by his support for abortion rights.