PDA

View Full Version : Lepard: I support Gary Johnson

llepard
01-25-2010, 01:35 PM
I met Gary Johnson for lunch this weekend. I was impressed. Very impressed.

As most of you know Gary was the Governor of New Mexico for two terms. He cut spending, vetoed bills and was without a doubt the most libertarian governor in the country.

Here are some of my take aways.

First, Gary is not Ron Paul, although he shares nearly all of his positions and views.

Second, Gary does not take the RP crowd or support for granted. He intends to earn it.

Third, Gary is a true libertarian. But, Gary is also a competitor. If Dr. Paul is Obi Wan, then Gary is Luke Skywalker. This guys is smart, tough and political. He is also nice and kind hearted. But he is nobody's fool. He wants to accomplish his goal which is reforming America. I think he can. He built a large successful business and sold it. As he says, he is an accountant by trade. He pinches pennies. Example, he spent $18k of his $125k travel budget as Governor one year in N.M. He gave the balance back. He spent 6 hours in the State Police helicopter during his entire term (@$500/hr) while Bill Richardson spent over 1,000 hours last year alone in the new helicopter which he bought which costs $1,500 per hour to run. Richardson also bought a new State Jet. Johnson says he would ground Air Force One. (I love it.) Why? We can't afford it.

He does not drink. He is for legalizing marijuana. It will be a key part of his campaign.

He does not want to upstage RP. He is 56 years old, so he has some time to build a base and win. He is prepared to make this a long term project if necessary.

He is an ahtlete. As he says, no one will push themselves harder than he does. The way he said it, I think he really means it.

He had a lottery number for Vietnam, but was not called.