PDA

View Full Version : I am an inarticulate libertarian! help please...

Glelas
10-26-2009, 02:28 PM
The people around me say stupid things - coworkers, family, friends etc...I try to start a civil discussion about something they just said. I get tongue tied and can't spit out my argument convincingly and with conviction. For some reason my articulation stinks. It always has. I lose arguments or don't even bother because I can't formulate my attack.

I read libertarian literature voraciously, lurk here and mises as well as other websites, not to mention magazines and newspapers. Its all up in my head, it all makes sense, I can see everything clearly, why can't I pass it on in a sensible simple manner? I am not looking to memorize, I get the concepts, I can't spit it out.

I have a Bachelor's in psychology, an MBA, and I am a fiber optic engineer. (Maybe this is the problem :rolleyes:) Should I be practicing in front of a mirror? Talking to a wall? How does one overcome or improve this? I want to be able to spew libertarian doctrine to any and all that will listen!!!!

Dunedain
10-26-2009, 02:35 PM
That's what this board is for. Stick around and learn the facts. You don't need to argue just state facts.

Captain Bryan
10-26-2009, 02:38 PM
I'm with ya man.

kaleidoscope eyes
10-26-2009, 02:40 PM
Ha, it's funny you just posted this... I was thinking the exact same things mere minutes ago... sigh
I wish I could communicate all the stuff going on in my head... but it just gets stuck somewhere between the brain and the mouth.:o

Bruno
10-26-2009, 02:41 PM
Might this book help?

http://www.theadvocates.org/new-subscriber-special.html

Dunedain
10-26-2009, 03:02 PM
Also, debating on a communist or neocon websites would allow you to learn how to deal with the nonsense arguments in slow motion. You'll be like Neo on the matrix dodging bullets in real life.

Evil matrix dude says, "We have to take the fight to the ENEMY before they take the fight to us!".

Feenix566