PDA

View Full Version : Sanctuary cities - for or against?

Rekonn
10-16-2009, 08:59 PM
I'm fairly new to the libertarian point of view, where does it stand on the issue of sanctuary cities?

Vessol
10-16-2009, 09:02 PM
Define?

silverhandorder
10-16-2009, 09:05 PM
Purely libertarian view would not have to worry about illegal immigration. Other then that it varies between libertarians.

If you think that even though the system is broken it should not be abused then you would oppose sanctuary cities.

Some people think that freedom to move stands above all else.

Some people point this out as the shortcomings of the system just like they do with crime. Does not mean they are for it they just acknowledge that fact.

Lastly some get perverse pleasure for the failings of the system.

Kludge
10-16-2009, 09:08 PM
The "libertarian PoV" is going to change pretty dramatically depending on which libertarian you speak with. Personally, while I sympathize with illegals as far as I don't approve of the restrictiveness in gaining citizenship, failure to respect one law is a well-enough indication that they will not respect other laws, enough so that I wouldn't feel terrible were they deported, but I also respect local communities' wishes which feel otherwise, though I have some uneasiness about the set precedents with local gov't ignoring federal law. So..... A lot of mixed feelings.

"Pure" libertarian philosophy would call for anarchy (or, at least, "voluntaryism"), but this is not an anarchist board, nor is Ron Paul an anarchist.

Rekonn
10-17-2009, 01:39 AM
Thanks for the input, I guess there is a range on this topic. I recently read Kokesh's immigration section on his issues page and think it's very reasonable approach. I like the guest worker program, but without the amnesty/automatic path to citizenship.

jbrace
10-17-2009, 01:51 AM