PDA

View Full Version : Concord Monitor coverage of RP in Manchester 9/29 ("Many awakenings")

LizF
09-30-2007, 05:21 AM
Many awakenings
Ron Paul is as surprised as anyone at the near messianic zeal he inspires

"Ron Paul doesn't understand his own success. He didn't know his calls for an end to the Federal Reserve and the Department of Education would draw cheers, that his anti-income tax, anti-foreign intervention and libertarian message would resonate. He was reluctant to run for the Republican presidential nomination, he said yesterday: He was convinced it would take another "generation for education" before his message - rooted in Paul's reading of the Constitution - gained traction.

"I have been just dumbfounded about what's happening," Paul said yesterday in Manchester's Veteran's Park, where roughly 500 sup

porters gathered for a glimpse of the presidential candidate. "I've been talking this way for 30 years. But something, something special is happening."

To attend a Ron Paul event is to see where some disaffected Democrats and Republicans have turned. There were anti-war activists and fiscal conservatives, opponents of the North American Free Trade Agreement and proponents of tougher border security. And there were those who scarcely paid attention to politics before discovering Paul, many driving hundreds of miles for the hour-long rally.

Many of them supported Paul's candidacy with an almost messianic zeal.
"He's the most wonderful human being in America now!," Sydney Walsh of Troy exclaimed after posing with Paul for a photograph. She quickly modified the statement with "besides my husband."