PDA

View Full Version : Should the government give preference to veterans for jobs?

jdmyprez_deo_vindice
06-23-2009, 06:39 AM
It is well known that the United States government gives preference to military veterans when it comes to availability for government jobs. I am interested in the general opinion of folks here regarding this policy. Should veterans get special treatment when it comes to job placement?

ChaosControl
06-23-2009, 09:33 AM
The government shouldn't be having jobs to give out.

But meh, I don't particularly care if they do or don't give preference.

UnReconstructed
06-23-2009, 09:58 AM
I am a veteran and that hasn't helped me even a little. It's just a talking point they use to make military people feel that they are a little better than the average person... it's BS.

Sean
06-23-2009, 10:35 AM
On certain civil service exams you will be given bonus points to your score.

Kraig
06-23-2009, 10:44 AM

+1

tremendoustie
06-23-2009, 10:51 AM

But meh, I don't particularly care if they do or don't give preference.

+2

fisharmor
06-23-2009, 11:05 AM

+3.

Plus, it also helps a lot if you're going to work for any of the number of fascist corporations.

A pure government example, though. A high school friend of mine was bona fide LD, had kids out of wedlock, got married, joined the Air Force as a missle handling grunt. Recently got his business school bachelor's. Just got a job with DHS, making more money and better benefits than I do working in the private sector, and I have almost a decade of IT experience.

I'm happy for him that he has a good life now. But it does grind my gears that a man who can't spell is helping to implement RealID, and his military experience got him in the door. Well, maybe it's a good thing he's in the RealID talent pool, but I'm still paying for it.