PDA

View Full Version : Schools now giving out GPA's above 100%!

RCA
05-23-2009, 07:04 PM
I was at a banquet tonight and several high school students were announced as having higher than 4.0 GPA's! One was 4.92! What has this country come to when we are telling our students that better than perfect is achievable, that the impossible is possible?

Sigh...

torchbearer
05-23-2009, 07:06 PM
Keynesian grade systems.

torchbearer
05-23-2009, 07:08 PM
On a serious note- a story about my history class in high school.
I was a straight A student. I made 100s on all my test. In my history class, the teacher would give a couple of "bonus" questions at the end of each test. Questions that weren't easy- and not necessarily something he spoke, but something you'd have to know from really reading the literature.
At the end of the semester- I'd have about 110 point average per test.
He allowed me to sell my bonus points to students that needed them to pass the class.
:)
I miss that guy.

specsaregood
05-23-2009, 07:12 PM
I was at a banquet tonight and several high school students were announced as having higher than 4.0 GPA's! One was 4.92! What has this country come to when we are telling our students that better than perfect is achievable, that the impossible is possible?

Sigh...

That's nothing new. Usually they give out extra points for AP classes -- the ones you can get college credit for. They were doing this when I was in high school over a decade ago. I'd be those students you referenced were straight-A students including some AP classes.

Thesemindz
05-23-2009, 07:16 PM