PDA

View Full Version : Legality of setting up a surveillance camera on my front yard?

jrich4rpaul
04-06-2009, 09:33 PM
Someone keeps letting their dog shit on my front lawn every single day. And when I say shit, I mean mountains. I've been stepping in it every time I mow the lawn for 2 years, yet I've never caught the dog in the act, and although I have a neighbor across the street who just lets his dog run around the street without anyone watching him, that has chased me to my car twice, I have never seen this dog in the act on my yard so I cannot safely accuse this guy. I've tried all kinds of repellents and this dog will not leave my yard alone.

So I want to take it to the next level and catch it in the act so I know who's dog it is, so I can start returning the owner's property to him :D. The only way I can do this is to A) sit on my porch all night into the morning or B) set up a camera, but I am skeptical about the legality of doing so.

Does anyone know how/if I could go about doing this (video recording)? I live in MA.

Live_Free_Or_Die
04-06-2009, 09:40 PM
Don't return the property. Try this:

1. Collect a mountain of evidence of the dog shitting in your yard.
2. Hire someone to come clean up the dog shit.
3. Send the owner of the dog a bill. Not the bill of what it cost you. A bill that represents what it cost you plus your administrative and inconvenience fees.
4. If the owner does not pay proceed to small claims court with your evidence, bill for clean up costs, evidence of lost wages for inconvenience, and clothing receipts for shoes that are covered in shit

You get the idea...

pcosmar
04-06-2009, 09:55 PM
Set up a Game Camera. or two.
They are motion sensitive. and inexpensive.
http://www.basspro.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/Product_10151_-1_10001_94725____SearchResults
There are several others, just look around. :)

nate895
04-06-2009, 10:08 PM
Check local laws, but you can definitely do it if it doesn't record other people's property.