PDA

View Full Version : Higher education advice for a sophomore in high school?

priest_of_syrinx
02-22-2009, 10:02 AM
Okay, so I'm a sophomore in a public high school. I have all A's and my predicted ACT score is 33-36, and I know people that have gotten full ride scholarships for 33, but I'm not willing to bet on that for myself right now. I'm really being pushed into a college education, but I'm afraid of the debt. Sure, I would love to get a degree in an academic area that I'm passionate about (journalism, music, economics, who knows), but I really don't know if I can pull it off with this financial crisis.

Do you guys have any recommendations of jobs that may just require education from a trade school, but don't require any involvement in a union? What is a good way to start your own business without getting into major debt? Thanks.

ladyjade3
02-22-2009, 10:10 AM
Maybe you can get some kind of scholarship that helps out with the bulk of your expenses, and allows you to have a job to work off the rest. If you can work your way through and pay as you go, and you're smart about what you study, then its a good option. Don't waste your time with underwater basketweaving type classes, only take as much music and literature as you have to to complete requirements, otherwise, take economics and business classes, stuff that has a real world point to it - and also learn something truly marketable, like HVAC repair! Or welding, or plumbing, auto repair, something that is immediately practical and useful. You will never regret it, even if you just use it around the house.

That's my advice.

heavenlyboy34
02-22-2009, 10:45 AM