PDA

View Full Version : I thought you all might like this...

Indy4Chng
02-14-2009, 03:42 PM
As a CPA I just was provided the summary of the new stimulous bill. This quote I found particularily disturbing:

"The new law instructs the Treasury Department to study how to better coordinate the education credits with the federal Pell Grant program and the feasibility of requiring students to perform community service for purposes of the education credits." :mad::mad::mad:

Ex Post Facto
02-14-2009, 04:06 PM
As a CPA I just was provided the summary of the new stimulous bill. This quote I found particularily disturbing:

"The new law instructs the Treasury Department to study how to better coordinate the education credits with the federal Pell Grant program and the feasibility of requiring students to perform community service for purposes of the education credits." :mad::mad::mad:

Yes, I read this in the original bill. They will be giving tax credits to students that perform X-amount of hours of public service.

driller80545
02-14-2009, 04:52 PM
Get a Pell Grant and become a ward of the state. Gotcha. Kind of like an education draft board.

pcosmar
02-14-2009, 04:54 PM
I thought you all might like this...

Nope , don't like it a bit.
And I do not and have not had any intention to get a grant.

heavenlyboy34
02-14-2009, 05:45 PM

:eek::eek::eek:!! :mad::mad::mad::mad:!!

Thanx for the info.

angelatc
02-14-2009, 05:47 PM
Get a Pell Grant and become a ward of the state. Gotcha. Kind of like an education draft board.

I don't have a problem with that. Don't take the government's money if you don't like the deal.

pcosmar
02-14-2009, 06:01 PM
I don't have a problem with that. Don't take the government's money if you don't like the deal.

True, But I also don't expect truth in advertising from the Govt.

asimplegirl
02-14-2009, 10:06 PM