PDA

View Full Version : Take this inauguration and shove it.

The Grinning Maniac
01-20-2009, 10:08 AM
I'm an art student over at Western Michigan University. This morning I found out that today, all classes will be tuning into Obama's inauguration live. At first I thought it was just the teacher's idea in my first class, but then I found out that the President of the University is encouraging it campus-wide. All classes are encouraged to watch.

I walked out.

I very politely, but publicly, stated to the professor and the students within earshot that I feel Obama is a fraud and a liar and I was not going to participate in this political circlejerk. I wished them well, then I gathered my stuff, tipped my hat, and walked out. The looks on their faces were amazing. It was like I had confessed to pedophila or something. I suppose my being black had a little to do with that.

But hey, I have principles and I'd rather not waste 2+ hours of my time watching something that disgusts and embarrasses me.

SnappleLlama
01-20-2009, 10:09 AM
I'm an art student over at Western Michigan University. This morning I found out that today, all classes will be tuning into Obama's inauguration live. At first I thought it was just the teacher's idea in my first class, but then I found out that the President of the University is encouraging it campus-wide. All classes are encouraged to watch.

I walked out.

I very politely, but publicly, stated to the professor and the students within earshot that I feel Obama is a fraud and a liar and I was not going to participate in this political circlejerk. I wished them well, then I gathered my stuff, tipped my hat, and walked out. The looks on their faces were amazing. It was like I had confessed to pedophila or something. I suppose my being black had a little to do with that.

But hey, I have principles and I'd rather not waste 2+ hours of my time watching something that disgusts and embarrasses me.

Nicely done!

decatren
01-20-2009, 10:13 AM