PDA

View Full Version : Me v. Police Officer

blocks
01-16-2009, 08:17 AM
If this is the wrong forum, mods feel free to move it.

So I'm taking a "Criminal Procedures," class online and we are arguing about a proposed law in California: 3 DUIs = you lose your license forever...

(his statements are in quotes...)

I think that they are on the right track for this law. However, as a police officer I can tell you that people break the law all the time and this is one law that they would be breaking all the time. Until people start realizing that driving is a privilage and not a right and respect that, then this law will not help as it is intended.

Well, technically, if they are a taxpaying citizen, driving IS a right that they have PAID for. They have paid for the road, they have paid for the law enforcement, and they have paid for their license. So after that, what exactly makes the right to drive a taxpayers' "privilege"?

I have worked many DUI check points and have arrested driver's for their 3rd / 4th DUI.

I know many of you all will beg to differ, but in my opinion any sort or form of "check point" is a Gestapo-style of policing. In fact, back in 1984, the Oklahoma Supreme Court barred mandatory check points in its state. The court declared that mandatory check points “draw dangerously close to what may be referred to as a police state.”

-------------

Any tips for my argument would be appreciated!

acptulsa
01-16-2009, 08:53 AM
Good stuff in here:

http://www.ronpaulforums.com/showthread.php?t=140830

First, most parts of the nation are not set up with public transportation, or even set up so public transportation is feasible. Secondly, laws that make it impossible to survive and thrive will be ignored of necessity, and the more that happens the less respect there will be for the law.

surf
01-16-2009, 02:43 PM