PDA

View Full Version : GOP: What can you tell me about the Republican Liberty Caucus (RLC)?

Matt Collins
01-11-2009, 03:14 PM
Now that it appears I am an officer within my local GOP, I would like to know more about the Republican Liberty Caucus (RLC).

What can you tell me about this organization?

torchbearer
01-11-2009, 03:16 PM
in this state, they have less power than the LALP, in fact, i don't think they have done much here.
I'm a member, but have never seen where they've had any meeting or anything.

I think in texas, Dondero is a member... if that tells you anything.

Matt Collins
01-11-2009, 03:18 PM
I think in texas, Dondero is a member... if that tells you anything.No it doesn't.... who is that?

torchbearer
01-11-2009, 03:20 PM
No it doesn't.... who is that?

http://libertarianrepublican.blogspot.com/2007/05/ron-paul-challenger-eric-dondero-picks.html

any questions?

raystone
01-11-2009, 06:55 PM
Still has potential, but last year their annual conference was canceled due to lack of participation

Like most political groups, works best at local and state levels. Involvement at state level varies widely across the county from very active chartered states to non chartered states with little or no activity.

gls
01-11-2009, 07:25 PM
Still has potential, but last year their annual conference was canceled due to lack of participation

That's unfortunate. I remember Gary Johnson was one of the scheduled speakers. IIRC it was only a few weeks after the Rally for the Republic, so that event may have drained a good amount of resources from otherwise likely attendees.

I believe Dondero was one of the founding members but is no longer with the organization. He's too busy with his "Pro-Defense" (intervention) Libertarian group. :rolleyes: