PDA

View Full Version : Audio mix on O'Reilly intervew

Ridiculous
09-10-2007, 06:52 PM
I have done some audio engineering's before and they mixed the audio with a bias to Bill.

Ron Paul's audio was all highs, and no bass. Whereas Bill's voice was evenly mixed, with a little extra bass. If you listen to the other people that he had on, the audio for the other person more evenly mixed.

Radio shows are sometimes mixed with a little bit more bass in the hosts voice to give the host dominance, but this isn't usually done on TV because you have a visual of both people. But this is usually done in radio morning and sports type shows. Not professional interviews. For example on say NPR or something the voices would be mixed evenly.

They purposely mixed Paul's voice to give O'Reilly the edge.

I don't watch his show often, but I bet that they do this regularly to guests that he is trying to bully.

Matt Collins
09-10-2007, 06:59 PM
I am an audio engineer and also work in broadcast as a talk radio producer. I think you are reading a bit too much into this...

Ridiculous
09-10-2007, 07:06 PM
I wasn't the only one that noticed this. Someone else just basically said the same thing in the "Official" O'Reilly thread.

Matt Collins
09-10-2007, 07:10 PM
I seriously doubt it was done intentionally

Ridiculous
09-10-2007, 07:19 PM
You think Fox is above tactics like that?

Magsec
09-10-2007, 07:19 PM
He sounded no different than when Cavuto was interviewing him about taxes. In fact, he sounded exactly the same. I think the mix is always like that for field equipment or something......can anyone confirm this for other guests besides RP?

Korey Kaczynski
09-10-2007, 07:25 PM

O'Reilly's voice did have dominance, though, and this station (and "journalist!") is known for its scummy tactics; why the skepticism when they've demonstrated the following:

1) The station hates Ron Paul
2) O'Reilly has cut off mics before
3) Both the station and the journalist are scumbags