PDA

View Full Version : How have republicans "lost their way?" Contrast Libertarians and Republicans.

emergent order
11-05-2008, 10:39 AM
Please excuse me; I am fairly new with politics. I have a couple key questions if you can help...

My first question is, what are some specific examples (evidence) of how Republicans have "lost their way?"

I am educating myself and feel I may get help in this forum. As I study the values of the parties, it seems to me the Republicans and Libertarians claim to value the SAME things. Which brings me to my my second question...

What is the difference between the Libertarian and Republican parties?

It seems to me they both (claim to) value limited government, individual freedom, individual responsibility, etc.... What is the difference between them? The Libertarians just seem to have a more beautiful way of stating the principles they stand for and perhaps are more trusted by their members.

I'd love to learn this. The only real way I justify being a Libertarian over a Republican is trust, in the fact that they truly stand for what I do. But their (claimed) values appear to be synonymous. How would you explain to someone that it may make more sense to someone with these value to be a member of the Libertarian Party over the Republican? Is it no more than trust?

Thank you, your help is genuinely appreciated.

sailor
11-05-2008, 11:08 AM
Libertarian Party are half-assed sellouts.

Republican Party hasn`t lost its way. It is returning to her roots. Republican party the party of Abraham Lincoln had always been big government and pro-buerocratisation.

travisAlbert
11-05-2008, 02:37 PM