PDA

View Full Version : Just finished watching the debate-Status Quo IMO-Can we SERIOUSILY write in Ron Paul?

helpUSplease
10-07-2008, 08:39 PM
I'm a newbie to this forum and I have a real question - I see in various forums and online news sites that allow comments where folks mention they are going to write in Ron Paul. Is this truly a viable option?

Does anyone know if write in votes would be counted?

BTW...I also read the recent forum thread in this site about the OK absentee ballot not including a place for a write in candidate. I'm shocked to read this - is this standard?

Then I also recently found out that the ballots in my State do not even identify third party candidates affiliations. They're all simpy listed as Independent. Again, is this standard?

Anyone versed in election procedure, or better yet election law?

Thank you in advance for the clarification.

SeanEdwards
10-07-2008, 08:43 PM
You can do whatever you want.

But write-in votes are not counted.

gls
10-07-2008, 08:48 PM
Write-in votes for Paul won't be counted because he didn't officially register as a write-in candidate (which I would assume means contacting the SoS/filing a list of electors). He will be on the ballot in Louisiana and Montana though as a third party candidate.

Oklahoma has the toughest ballot-access (and write-in eligibility) laws in the nation. IIRC it's the only state without a third-party/independent choice.

I'm not sure about listing third party candidates as independent. I do know that ocassionally a minor party nominee will choose to go the "Independent" route because the requirements are typically less difficult (fewer signatures needed, later deadline, etc.)

helpUSplease
10-07-2008, 09:33 PM
Well, Look what I found a blog dedicated to how write in votes are handled per State: http://writein2008.blogspot.com/

Quick - check out your State!!! There may be hope after all.