PDA

View Full Version : My views on the state of Christianity today

DeadtoSin
09-28-2008, 02:19 PM
Please understand this is my very first draft of this, and I included something older I wrote. I know everything may not fit very well, but I wanted to put this out there and see everyone else's thoughts. I'd prefer this not turn into a "Christians are wrong" or "atheists are wrong thread." I wrote this for my audience, which will be my church, so I have to appeal to them in every way I can. I realize this is very rough and it needs work, but I'm hoping to get some critique. Please be gentle. :D

Church – By church, we mean the body of people who make the God of Jesus visible in the world

State – By state we mean “a country or nation with sovereign independent government ruled by kings, presidents, or legislatures.”

I'd like to start by making a diagnosis about Christianity in America. I am not a doctor, and I'm certainly not a Biblical scholar. Unfortunately, things have gotten so bad, that if you simply open your eyes and pay attention you can see American Christianity's sickness. As of right now, the church in America is schizophrenic. We claim to believe in the power of God, his saving grace, and that in the end His will will prevail. It seems logical that our voting behavior and the beliefs of the candidates we vote for would reflect our belief that God's will is going to reign supreme. Curiously enough, our votes express confidence not in God or his plan, but on the military and using war as a device to combat evil.

"One of the primary purposes of the church is to stop the spread of evil, even at the cost of human lives. If we do not stop the spread of evil, many innocent lives will be lost and the kingdom of God suffers." -Jerry Falwell