PDA

View Full Version : ron Paul on Financial Aid

happyphilter
09-04-2007, 01:36 PM
One thing that really REALLY bothers me is Ron Pauls stance on ending federal programs. I am a college student, but could not afford to go to college without theses government programs. I am already in a lot of debt and wouldent even be able to pay it if I was working full time.
So what is Ron Paul going to do to help me get an affordable education?

FSP-Rebel
09-04-2007, 01:42 PM
Federal non-involvement would allow competition to drive the price of EDU down. Keep in mind, RP's plan to transition from government dependence to full independence could take a term or so. Plus, we'd all agree that if the money is spent, that it's better to spend it on a college student than buying bombs to kill people with.

Ridiculous
09-04-2007, 01:44 PM
If the income tax was eliminated and your parents made 30%+ more, would that be enough to put you through college?

Also, the market would take over and banks would want to make money by offering affordable loans. People have come to expect differed loans the market would fill that need at competitive rates. Banks would compete Banks already make the loans, they are just insured by the government. Sally Mae would be eliminated, but you don't have to get a loan from Sally Mae....

risiusj
09-04-2007, 01:48 PM
Don't forget that, on the state level, programs would be created to help us college kids. States want good economies, and they know that comes from education.

micahnelson
09-04-2007, 01:51 PM
Why should I pay for you to go to college? Why should you have to pay for my small business loan? How about you pay for your stuff, I pay for mine, and we keep the government out of it.

The reason education prices are so high is because of subsidy.

FSP-Rebel
09-04-2007, 01:52 PM
If the income tax was eliminated and your parents made 30%+ more, would that be enough to put you through college?