PDA

View Full Version : "No country by treaty can use the gold standard."???

Jeremy
07-26-2008, 08:18 PM
Somebody told me that. Since I'm still a noob and only started learning politics since December (thanks to the Ron Paul movement =p)... can someone explain what they were referring to? I mean I'm sure it's absolutely ridiculous... but still...

hypnagogue
07-26-2008, 08:48 PM
If I recall correctly, membership in the WTO requires a fiat currency.

EDIT: Google isn't turning anything up for me.

ThePieSwindler
07-27-2008, 12:39 AM
Its because of the worldwide system of floating currencies and exchange rates. In all honesty, the Fed isn't going anywhere anytime soon. The most we can hope for is some kinda of reform, but a total abolishment, and a pure gold standard, ain't happening. Even if there isn't actually a treaty, there would still be alot of international relations and trade related consequences that alot of countries would take issue with.

idiom
07-27-2008, 01:43 AM
Their fiat fiascoes would become obvious as they continued to slide against the dollar by 3% every year.

Truth Warrior
07-27-2008, 06:58 AM
I don't know about the rest of you, but I'm just getting pretty damned sick and tired of all of this tyrannical bogus "treaty" ( so called ) CRAP. :p :rolleyes:

BTW, that goes for the BS "Executive Orders" and the "law factory" garbage production too, for that matter.

Ah thanks, I feel better now, I really needed that. :)

revolutionman
07-27-2008, 08:22 AM
fk the WTO fk the IMF fk The World Bank, everyone whos job it is to subjugate me through manipulations of currency, fk you!!

skyorbit
07-27-2008, 09:16 AM
Switzerland must not be part of the WTO then, because the Swiss Franc is still backed by Gold.

Our dollar's depressiated about 80 against the franc, compaired to 97 against Gold. So the swiss have had a little inflation in the last 80 years. But very small ammount relative to us.