PDA

View Full Version : Silver coin wear / Silver coin value.

123tim
07-01-2008, 10:04 AM
Does anyone know how much "average wear" deducts from the silver melt value of a coin?
For example say that a silver Kennedy half dollar has a melt value of $6.30. Would this be worth much less if it has "Average wear"?

To take this question even further - Would a coin that has the dates worn completely off have a drastically reduced silver content?

I'm not good at this sort of thing... and I really appreciate all of the advice that I get.

Shinerxx
07-01-2008, 10:39 AM
Most dealers will sell you junk silver under spot price. For example Tulving right now has junk silver at 15 cents under spot price. I personally would never purchase junk silver for wealth preservation purposes at spot price when it can be found easily under spot.

If your Kenndy half dollar is only 40% silver this is sometimes concidered less appealing to buyers and they may offer even more under spot.

In conclusion, the reason for the price below spot is because of the circulated wear to the coin and actual loss of mass.

bander87
07-01-2008, 11:25 AM
Does anyone know how much "average wear" deducts from the silver melt value of a coin?
For example say that a silver Kennedy half dollar has a melt value of $6.30. Would this be worth much less if it has "Average wear"?

To take this question even further - Would a coin that has the dates worn completely off have a drastically reduced silver content?

I'm not good at this sort of thing... and I really appreciate all of the advice that I get.

The melt value is based on no wear at all I'm pretty sure. If you can't read the date on the coin, as much as 10% of it's weight may have been lost.

ARealConservative
07-01-2008, 11:31 AM
The melt value is based on no wear at all I'm pretty sure. If you can't read the date on the coin, as much as 10% of it's weight may have been lost.