PDA

View Full Version : Professional Revolutionary?

Misesian
06-01-2008, 11:27 AM
I'm currently an engineer but have lost much of the interest in this line of work. I am unfortunately consumed by restoring liberty and it is more than just an interest now and feel it is my civic duty and also the duty of a Christian. Volunteering is very difficult because time must be divided between your professional job, your family, and this volunteer effort.

It would seem like your 3 options to become a "professional revolutionary" are the following:

1. Elected official
2. Economist (austrian school no doubt)
3. Lawyer

The first one is out for me. I'm in my later 20's but just don't feel it's time and frankly have ZERO interest in any position outside of federal and my district would not be conducive to run at least until 2010.

I've thought about option 2 but have had a hard time finding any economics grad programs of the austrian school. Especially distant learning ones.

I think most of us already are much of option #3 since we know the law, we know history of the law, and we know the application of law and how it's supposed to be interpreted. Of course we also know of unalienable rights and the fact that governments do not have rights themselves, and laws are only supposed to prevent the aggression against those rights of the individual.

Does anybody else here have this same dilemma? Options 2 and 3 of course would require further education but I'm quite alright with that as I'm already constantly reading. Though tuition costs would be the only problem.

I'm also curious what exactly we would do to help this effort after getting a JD or an economists masters?

It's funny that people think I like politics. They don't understand that we just want to be left alone and have freedom, peace, and prosperity. If we had Constitutional government I'd have been pursuing my true happiness which would have been playing baseball! ;)

ronpaulhawaii
06-01-2008, 11:30 AM