PDA

View Full Version : Facebook review of Manifesto. Very infuriating!

spudea
05-31-2008, 09:58 PM
I have a chase mastercard and they have a facebook rewards group called Chase +1. Well I searched their store and I can get the Revolution for 10 karma points. I searched high and low for a way to add my review or respond in some way, but there isn't a way. In their store, underneath the book is a "customer review" that goes as follows:

The fact that our government has strayed so far from what was originally intended and moreover, that we citizens have let it happen and not question it is a hard pill to swallow, but needs to be acknowledged nonetheless. Ron Paul does an amazing job of outlining some basic principles our founding fathers built this nation on and shows exactly how much we've regressed. Very empowering read... question is what do you do after you've read it.

Brings up a lot of good information that should be brought up and a lot more often!

I consider myself a libertarian and I was very excited to read Dr. Ron Paul's book. The majority of the book is concerned with three basic issues.

1. The Constitution
2. Foreign Policy
3. Monetary Policy

The book starts out with the issue of Foreign Policy and advocates the United States stay out of other countries affairs. This includes staying out of their affairs militarily and also with foreign aid, but he does NOT advocate becoming isolationist. In fact, he makes very strong arguments for free trade and for diplomacy. I agree with his overall point, but he leaves a lot of questions unanswered. What if a country starts slaughtering hundreds of thousands of Jews or Tutsi? What if a powerful country unjustly attacks a weaker country? What if the rest of the world refuses to act? Dr. Paul did not provide strong (or any) answers to these types of questions.