PDA

View Full Version : Should public schools be armed?

AutoDas
04-15-2008, 02:31 PM
I don't think they should be. All of the shootings have taken place in public schools. You already forfeit your right of freedom of religion, speech, peacefully assemble, and petition in public schools and there's no way they'd allow students to carry protection. When the students move to colleges that aren't paid by the government then they suddenly found have been known to be very liberal, but then they come out of those schools thinking "liberal=democrat."

tod evans
04-15-2008, 02:33 PM
teachers, janitors, office staff or just the coaches?....
kinda hard to figure out what you`re asking here:confused:

LittleLightShining
04-15-2008, 02:45 PM
We had 2 policemen on duty at my high school in CT (I graduated in 92). At the time there were about 1200 students. Everyone called the cops by their first names and they knew who everyone was. Overall it was a good thing. I would definitely not be opposed to it elsewhere.

pcosmar
04-15-2008, 02:49 PM
At around 14 or 15, I took a hunter safety course at my high school. It was required in this state to get a hunting license.
I was also on the school rifle team and ROTC. We had a range in the school basement.
Students commonly exchanged ammo, and sometimes traded guns.
Many of the cars in the parking lot had firearms in them.
This was an area High School with over 2000 students.
No one was ever shot.
Fights did not involve firearms.

It was not till they were banned that they became a problem.

Dequeant
04-15-2008, 03:42 PM
I remember when our high school came down and said that rifle and shotguns were no longer allowed in our vehicles on school grounds...............and what a big ruckus that caused. Shortly after the school shootings followed.

CountryboyRonPaul
04-15-2008, 03:51 PM
A few years ago at my little Cousin's High School some kid said he was bringing a gun to school for some sort of "gang" fight.