PDA

View Full Version : Question about off quality and damaged silver dollars?

JoeyA
04-05-2008, 03:22 PM
I`ve been purchasing 1 oz. silver eagles for a couple of months.Today I have been browsing apmex.com to check out their prices and came across this:

http://www.apmex.com/Category/161/Cull___Off_Quality_Silver_Dollars.aspx

These are much cheaper then the mint conditions.Are they still a great deal?Has the silver lost value in the coins even though they are damaged?If not then paying $4-$7 less for an once of silver seems to be a great deal!

Kalifornia
04-05-2008, 03:34 PM
Obviously Im no expert, but I would think that an oz of silver is an oz of silver. I know that people tend to prefer prettier coins, but will that really matter wtshtf? In my opinion, no.

JoeyA
04-05-2008, 03:38 PM
Obviously Im no expert, but I would think that an oz of silver is an oz of silver. I know that people tend to prefer prettier coins, but will that really matter wtshtf? In my opinion, no.

That`s what I am thinking/hoping.:)

Dr.3D
04-05-2008, 03:41 PM
Just remember, those are only 90% silver. Other than that, they are fine. Silver is silver. If you by a bar of silver, it doesn't usually matter if it is tarnished or dented, it is still worth it's weight in silver.

davver
04-05-2008, 04:10 PM
Some old silver dollars are made of less then an ounce of silver. And I'm not just talking 90%, some might be 0.77xx ounces or something. The description of the item should tell you otherwise try and internet search. If it says 1.69 over melt then the silver content of the coin is worth 1.69 less then they are charging.

As far as bang for your buck goes eagles and generic are your best bet. The old coins have numastic value.

micahnelson
04-05-2008, 04:12 PM
If you are dealing with intelligent people who understand silver, they will deal will cull coinage. If you need to convince someone to barter who doesn't understand coinage, use the shiny stuff- but less of it.

Zippyjuan