PDA

View Full Version : About to Enlighten 40 people to Ron Paul.

Conza88
04-02-2008, 08:09 PM
Doing International Business / Relations degree. We have tutorials / debates about q's each week. I have prepared this :D 40 people in the tute, what do you think? I try to work him in there. I'll be bringing him up, in each lecture as much as I can for the next 12 weeks! ahahah. ;)

The names Michael and I’m doing a degree in International Business.

What are the causes of war?

First we must ask ourselves, what is to be meant by “cause”.
Well, Webster’s Dictionary defines, ‘cause’ as “the one, be it, a person, event, or condition that is responsible for an action or result.”

It is in my opinion, that the causes of war – are both greed manifested through money and power. The world essentially, runs on individuals pursuing their self-interests. And it is when those whom rise to power, and abuse it – that the unfortunate happens. As Thomas Jefferson states “Power is not alluring to pure minds.”

Having looked at our textbook, I think there is a large deficit and total lack of commentary about political economy, including the concepts of money and power. For how many times, in all of history, has the government of the day – waged war, in the name of national security, in the defence of the people - in the name of security?

I’d like to now play a short clip of Congressmen Ron Paul, at a Republican Presidential Debate.

[Show Ron Paul Slamming Neocon Warmongers – 1min 30] (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fhAokoMgSDc)

As Dr Paul mentions, there was no threat to the United States national security, so apart from faulty intelligence – you have to ask yourself, how much was really known before the invasion?

As Clausewitz mentions, “War is a continuation of politics by other means.”
It is both instrumental, purposive and a rational act by those individuals in power.