PDA

View Full Version : Anyone know how to short-sell investment banks???

kyleAF
03-14-2008, 05:37 PM
:mad:

I was planning on shorting Bear Stearns A LOT 2 days ago, but could not manage to find the index symbol to purchase short-selling shares...and I LOOKED all over the net.

Anyone know how to do this? I'm new to this actual stock-investment thing. I could have made a significant amount today with Bear's 45% drop... :mad:

I'm currently short a basket of financials and am making money on it, but I'd like to pick out individual banks I think will be hit hard (mostly intuition).

Also: anyone know how to purchase staples farming equity shares or actual wheat / soy / corn / rice shares (not options and futures)???

Right now, all I've managed to do is make some money shorting the major indexes a bit... I think the DJIA will be well below 10,000 by September, and have bet on it.

Anyway, any info is much appreciated!

misa
03-14-2008, 07:19 PM
Hi Kyle, I know that the first thing 'pros' will tell us newbies about trading is, "don't do it if you don't know about it."

If you want to practice trading, there are several sites where you can do that. Google 'virtual stock market', and you can trade yourself silly there. That is what I do, cuz although I have a hunch on several stocks can be shorted, I don't have the guts to do it with my own money, yet.

There is no special stock symbol for shorting, it's still BSC. It's just a different way of 'buying'. Shorting is also a next level type of trading. The brokerage company will give you some paperwork to do before you can do it.

Cowlesy
03-14-2008, 07:21 PM
Be super careful if you are going to start shorting individual stocks. You can go long the double-inverse short ETF (SKF) that gives you outsized leveraged returns being short the financials.