PDA

View Full Version : Are you a Ron Paul conservative?

03-03-2008, 06:56 AM
Here is the question:

As the RP Revolution seems to be filtering out the "progressives" and anti-war-only types, we are left with more and more of the classically liberal-based, Old Right conservatism that Ron Paul so embodies.

So, here's the question.

As the Ron Paul Revolution defines itself more and more as an Old Right movement, do you feel comfortable with the label "Republican conservative?"

TruckinMike
03-03-2008, 07:49 AM
I voted no. Why? Because the perception of what a Republican has changed. The definition of a republican has changed. If I could reform the definition in all the worlds mind-- I would, but I can't.

If you are wondering, yes, I am the old right. I fit nicely into that box, I'm a gun totin', quote throwin', Man of the Constitution.

TMike

PS- I'm still registered as a republican and will continue, but I'm not a proud of it, its my only choice.

ryanmkeisling
03-03-2008, 08:03 AM
I voted yes because as I see it these entitlements are meaningless. The republican party was founded on anti-slavery principles but today is mostly associated with the opposite. As for the Democrats, well they are both the same in essence. IMO It doesn't matter what any of us are labeled as; the message is clear and strong if you are ready to hear it.

Spirit of '76
03-03-2008, 08:03 AM
Yes, and just like Ron Paul, I am working to remind people what a Republican should be.

Richie
03-03-2008, 08:38 AM
I voted no, because I'm a capital-L Libertarian. I'm not 100% sure what you mean by the old right. The first Republican President was Lincoln, who was even worse then W. Bush. If that's what you mean by the old right, then I'm glad I voted no. If, however, you mean Goldwater Republican, I would definitely be in that group.

Truth Warrior
03-03-2008, 08:39 AM