PDA

View Full Version : Chris Peden on RP (Housotn Chronicle)

txporchpisser
02-11-2008, 03:59 PM
Why Chris Peden is the best candidate for the Republican nomination from TX-14

Firstly, I share and can more effectively represent the conservative values
in this district.

I'm a husband, father, Sunday school teacher, and a small business owner. I've
been married to my college sweetheart for nineteen years and we have four
wonderful children. I'm a Pro-Life, Pro-Family, Christian conservative who
believes in smaller government, the free market, and personal
responsibility.

Being your next congressman is my first and only goal, not my fallback
position if I don't get elected President.

Secondly, I have a history of proven conservative accomplishment in this
district.

I'm a certified public accountant by profession and I am currently the Mayor
Pro Tem in the city of Friendswood.

I led the fight for Friendswood's first ever municipal tax refund; returning
over $1 million dollars of their hard-earned money back to the taxpayers.

In a victory for personal property rights, I voted to limit the city's power
of eminent domain to traditional uses and not for purely economic
development reasons.

And I fought to make English the official language in Friendswood because I
believe that English unites us as a people more than it divides us.

Thirdly, the incumbent is not an effective congressman; in ten years he has
sponsored 350 bills and none of them have been enacted into law. The
incumbent does not share our traditional values or our priorities; he does
not support our President, and he posses a profoundly, and consistently, and
dangerously na´ve view of the world we live in and America's role in it.

We can't have an incumbent who does not support NASA when the Johnson Space Center is two miles from our district and thousands of NASA employees,
astronauts, and contractors call CD 14 home.

We can't have an incumbent who won't vote to supply body armor for our