PDA

View Full Version : 90% silver vs rounds

obstruksion
02-06-2008, 08:58 AM
Does anyone have any advice on which is a safer store of value? I'm a bit of a newbie on this and am making my first $1500 investment next week. I plan to buy $30k or so over the next year if the $hit doesn't completely hit the fan by then...thanks

davver
02-06-2008, 09:14 AM
I've been purchasing Maple Leafs. They are more expensive then spot, but you can also sell them for more then spot. Thier purity is guaranteed by the Canadian government and they are easily recognizable.

90% bags seem an alright investment too.

youngbuck
02-06-2008, 05:30 PM
Get both. I got a little over 50ozs of silver rounds. My last purchase was a $10 roll of 90% silver quarters, and I'm still waiting for it to arrive. After that, I plan on buying more 90% silver as I can afford it. Half dollars, quarters, and dimes.

Don't forget gold. Even if you plan on investing primarily in silver, you should still get the occasional 1/10oz or 1/4oz gold coin. ;)

Green Mountain Boy
02-06-2008, 05:34 PM
I've been purchasing Maple Leafs. They are more expensive then spot, but you can also sell them for more then spot. Thier purity is guaranteed by the Canadian government and they are easily recognizable.

Most of my silver is in Maple Leaves and 90% U.S. coins.

WilliamC
02-06-2008, 05:36 PM
What about silver bars?

as at http://mjpm.com/silver.cfm?

Cleaner44
02-06-2008, 05:43 PM
Get both. I got a little over 50ozs of silver rounds. My last purchase was a $10 roll of 90% silver quarters, and I'm still waiting for it to arrive. After that, I plan on buying more 90% silver as I can afford it. Half dollars, quarters, and dimes.

Don't forget gold. Even if you plan on investing primarily in silver, you should still get the occasional 1/10oz or 1/4oz gold coin. ;)

One problem with gold less than an oz is the higher premiums you pay. For smaller budgets I like silver.

Johnny Crab