PDA

View Full Version : If Not Gold, What Then--Part II: The Answer

Thom1776
08-07-2007, 11:09 PM
OK, I posed this question about a week ago. I've been formulating this idea for many years now. Today, I unveil it to the world.

With the recent tragedy in Minnesota, now is a good time to bring up an issue that Ron Paul could take to heart.

We all know how the Federal Reserve is a big scam that saps the wealth of our nation. We also know that, once upon a time, gold and silver backed our Dollar. However, while gold is "tangible" and globally recognized as a valuable commodity, its value can still be manipulated by both foreign and domestic influences.

Money is nothing more than an accounting tool used to keep track of commercial transactions in a universally accepted unit of currency. In our case, it is the Dollar, or, to be more specific, the Federal Reserve Note (FRN).

Our infrastructure is what keeps our economy going. We need bridges and tunnels and highways and railroads and air and seaports to transport goods and for both business and personal travel.

The Minnesota bridge collapse alone is going to cost hundreds of millions, if not billions, of dollars to clean up and reconstruct. But how much money on top of that will be lost because the normal traffic flow will be disrupted during this time? Commuters and commercial transporters will spend more time and burn more fuel traveling, since they now have to take a detour from their usual route. This will also contribute to accelerated depreciation of their vehicles in the form of increased wear and tear, maintenance and replacement. This may also be hundreds of millions, if not billions, of dollars. That is how important our transportation infrastructure is to our economy. Transportation IS our economy.