PDA

View Full Version : Idea for political cartoon/illustration!

Canadiandude
02-04-2008, 01:06 PM
I am an art student, i take pride in my ability to create. Lo and behold, a 4 week assignment comes up to do something political! I have been following the campaign religiously for the past couple of months, and i have learned a great deal about Ron Paul, the constitution, and the current state of affairs with the political system in the USA.

One idea i had would be Ron Paul and George bush playing chess, next to George is this machine http://www.chessmaniac.com/uploaded_images/deepblue.jpg-772488.jpg or at least something resembling it, it's feeding him a slip of paper as he's grasping it trying to read it in one hand, while attempting to imitate the move with one of his pieces in the other.

If there are any ideas willing to be thrown out there for a profound visual message, please let me hear it!

sillvergirl
02-04-2008, 01:17 PM
Why don't you draw a cartoon showing an octopus (corporate interests, banking establishment,military -industrial complex, big pharmaceutical industry,etc.) with its many arms stretching out to grasp all the major media outlets(newspapers, FOX, CBS, etc.) being fed by the candidates (other than Ron Paul, of course), and showing the "other Candidates " being protected by the obese octopus, from the onslaught of our hero, warrior octopus slayer, RON PAUL????

Canadiandude
02-04-2008, 01:24 PM
Not a bad idea, i can already see the tentacular appendages pulling in all the newspaper stands bearing different logos, while slop is being shovelled into it's mouth by the candidates. But what would Paul stand for in the image? What would make him the punch line?

Santana28
02-04-2008, 01:41 PM
you should make an old school communist propaganda poster with hillary clinton and john mccain's faces on it - very red, black, and white with straight lines and "heroic" figures.

heck, now you gave me a great ideal.