PDA

View Full Version : The CONSTITUTION

ziggrl
02-02-2008, 09:08 PM
I hope they still teach about the CONSTITUTION in school. Do they? I graduated from high school in 1979. I don't recall them teaching it then. I may have been imbibing a little too much.

Is this generation even taught about our founding fathers and the constitution, the federalist papers, the amendments????

Scott Wilson
02-02-2008, 10:02 PM
They teach it soundbyte style.

I doubt they teach about the Federalist Papers, John Locke, Plato vs Aristotle etc.

I heard Hillary the other day saying how important the Constitution is and yet just about everything she advocates is unconstitutional. Hypocrisy and rhetoric.

Few people read and THINK about what they read.

InLoveWithRon
02-02-2008, 10:15 PM
If people just understood that whenever the US got further away from the constitution, we had alot of problems, wars, and a bad economy.. And whenever we adhered to the constitution, the country prospered greatly!! And this is through all of US history..

It's really quite simple.. If people just grasped that fact, the constitution talk Ron Paul advocates would sink in so much deeper.. The constitution is the symbolic rulebook of freedom and prosperity. It's just that simple..

Richandler
02-02-2008, 11:10 PM
They show kids what is in it, but they don't go over what it means or examples where it can be violated.

slantedview
02-02-2008, 11:42 PM
when i was in high school a little less than 10 years ago, we touched lightly on john locke. not too much other stuff though.

Alawn
02-03-2008, 11:59 AM
They don't teach it anymore. My sister was talking to someone who graduated from high school with good grades and mentioned the Constitution and she said, "What's that?" After explaining what it was she said, "What?" Apparently she had no clue what it was.

SWATH
02-03-2008, 12:04 PM